September 26, 2011

TOE TAG - Machete Killah EP (2007)

Debut 7 inch from these Seattle HC/Thrash veterans. Toe Tag formed in 2005 after Blain Cook, Alex Sibbald and Steve Nelson jumped ship from The Acc├╝sed. While they still retain the Splatterrock-type lyrics from their previous band, musically they sound more like The Fartz (the reunited line-up that Blaine and Alex played in together). Great band to see live as well.

1. Machete Killah
2. Junior's Eyes (Black Sabbath)

September 23, 2011

THE BILL OF RIGHTS - Surf, Skate, Ski & Skank tape (1985)

Along with Death Sentence, House Of Commons, A.K.O.B., The Spores, etc, The Bill Of Rights were another band who seemed to have that mid 80's Vancouver sound. Whatever that means. Prior to this tape, they put out two 7 inch EPs (No Rights No Chance and Meltdown '85). This was recorded live at CO-OP Radio on September 7, 1985 and featured mostly newer material and covers of old surf classics.
1. Out Of Limits
2. Pipeline
3. Walk Don't Run
4. Surfrenzy
5. The Unknown Surfer
6. Shot In The Ass
7. Slowdown
8. You Better Hide
9. Drunk Government
10. Pig
11. Urban Cowgoof
12. Wipeout
13. T-BOR Blues


September 21, 2011

AKOB - Explosion Blues EP (1985)

A.K.O.B. was Neil Embo's band after leaving House Of Commons and before joining Forbidden Beat. 'Officer Friendly' was originally an old HOC tune titled 'Colwood RCMP', later renamed 'Live For Today'. This EP was given to me on a CD-R by Mr. Embo himself. It's a different mix than the 7 inch and includes two bonus tracks from the Undergrowth '85 compilation. 
01. Explosion Blues
02. Diddling With One's Own Thing Blues
03. What's Going On Blues
04. Officer Friendly Blues
05. Plastic Peoples Blues
06. Pogo Blues
07. 5 Finger Discount Blues

September 20, 2011

PERSONALITY CRISIS - Creatures For Awhile 'Deluxe Edition' (1983)

Easily one of the greatest (and most underrated) punk rock albums to ever come out of the Great White North. Tracks 1-12 are from the 2009 War On Music reissue, 13-16 were alternate tracks from the 1990 Overground reissue. Hence the reason I call this the 'Deluxe Edition'. These were all ripped by muggins here and not downloaded from somewhere else. Give'r!!!
01. Vampire's Dream
02. Mrs. Palmer
03. Twilight's Last Gleaming
04. The Advocate
05. Double Take
06. People in Glass
07. The Look
08. Creatures for Awhile
09. Scavengers
10. Wild Game
11. Namedropper

12. Tyrants
13. Losing Time
14. Wonder What They're Thinking
15. Empty Sky
16. Waiting

September 19, 2011

FATAL RAGE - Self Titled LP (1983)

Catchy old school punk rock from New Jersey. The vocals kinda remind me of Shawn Stern from Youth Brigade. Too bad this LP's never been reissued, because it's long out of print and pretty hard to come by. I don't even own this album. But instead of just posting a link from another blog, I borrowed my friend's copy and ripped it myself. Luckily his record was in great shape because I think it came out sounding better than the other rips I've heard online. You tell me.

01. Struggle
02. Assault
03. Jump & Die
04. Die Lady Di
05. Fatal Mistake
06. V.O.A.
07. Copy Bands
08. I'm Appalled
09. Yelling/
Kick That Fucker

September 18, 2011

FORBIDDEN BEAT - Driving You Insane EP (1986)

'If there is such a thing as a "Vancouver vocal sound" (DOA, DEATH SENTENCE), then this band has it. With former members of BILL OF RIGHTS and HOUSE OF COMMONS, you'll find four largely mid-tempo punk songs, lots of guitar, and plenty of drive. It rocks.'
-Tim Yohannan (from Maximum Rocknroll, May 1986) 

1. It's A Mad, Mad World
2. Starve The Rich
3. Open Your Mind
4. Death By Insanity

It's A Mad, Mad World

PIPEBOMB - Self Titled EP (1996)

Pipebomb were a short-lived East Vancouver band that played old school USHC. While that style is fairly common nowadays, not a lot of bands were doing it in the mid 90's. Their only other release was a self-titled tape that included a few songs off this 7 inch. And no, 'Filler' is not a Minor Threat cover.

1. I Don't Care
2. Kill Whitey
3. Fuck Vancouver Pigs
4. Filler
5. Hatred For Authority
6. I.R.A.
7. Hari Rama
8. Beer Run

September 17, 2011

FRATRICIDE - Radio Session (1987)

Awesome crossover hardcore from Vancouver. Got this off Soulseek a few years back. This was recorded live at CRFO Co-Op Radio on January 2nd, 1987. Tracks 2, 3 and 4 were used for the B-side of their posthumous 'Scream Bloody Vengeance' 7 inch.
1. Merchants Of Death (Instrumental)
2. Poison Control
3. Beaten Senseless
4. Final Solution
5. Rising Force
6. Razor Piss
7. End The Suffering / Rip Wide The Sky
8. Scream Bloody Vengeance
9. Grave
10. Our Circled Adventure
11. Clear Mind Clear Thought
12. Blind Faith
13. Going Under

September 16, 2011

DEATH SENTENCE - Demo tape (1984)

Here's some more rare 80's Vancouver punk. I found this tape at Joey Shithead's yard sale back in 1998. What a score! In my opinion, this raw lo-fi recording is some of their best material. The first three songs appeared on the Undergrowth '84 cassette compilation, while the rest of it has never been released (as far as I know). Here's a review from MRR...

'A very classy, powerful power thrash outfit that doesn't resort to metal riffs. If anything, they owe more to earlier punk, but they're firmly rooted in modern sounds, blasting it out with strong lyrics and hooks to boot--"live" proof that Vancouver is not dead. Hot!'
-Tim Yohannan (October 1984)

01. Get Out of Our Way
02. Real World
03. Ultra Violence
04. Statue of Misery
05. Mein Kampf
06. Fascist Gun in the West
07. RCMP
08. So Civilized

September 15, 2011

HOUSE OF COMMONS - Live (1984)

Ok, this is my first post... so what better way to kick it off than with a rippin' live set from House Of Commons? If you've never heard HOC, go check out their 1983 LP, "Patriot". This show was recorded live in December 1984 at Luv Affair nightclub in Vancouver. Enjoy!
1. Here Today Gone Tomorrow
2. MDA
3. Insane
4. Live For Today
5. Low
6. Killer's Pride
7. Endangered Species (UK Subs)
8. Gotta B Alive
9. Peter Gunn
10. Attitude
11. 1999
12. American Patriot
13. Slut (GBH)
14. Way Down South
15. Raid