June 22, 2012

SOLDIERS OF MISFORTUNE - Pay Attention... tape (1996)

Soldiers Of Misfortune were one of my favorite local acts in the mid to late 90's. They wrote some great tunes and were always fun to see live. I liked them so much I even put together a tribute Myspace page because I felt they were totally underrated. This cassette was their only release, taken from two different recording sessions. Tracks 1-7 were from their first demo, recorded on a 4-track in Sept '95. The rest were recorded at Profile Studios on November 21st the same year. Strangely enough, the demo sounds way better than the studio tracks. The bass was too loud and the guitar too quiet on that recording and in my opinion didn't really do the band justice. Maybe that's why they included those demo tracks on this tape.  
1. Neighbors (demo)
2. Everybody Dies (demo)
3. Average Joe (demo)
4. Urban Safari (demo)
5. Mommy (demo)
6. Alcoholic With A Gun (demo)
7. Message To Myself (demo)
8. Neighbors
9. Average Joe
10. Old Macdonald
11. Mommy
12. Urban Safari
13. Alcoholic With A Gun
14. New Age (Subhumans)
15. Message To Myself
16. Soldiers Of Misfortune
17. The Grass Song
18. Everybody Dies

June 14, 2012

VA - Basic Sampler tape (1984)

Found this tape about 10-12 years ago. Wasn't familiar with most of the bands on here at the time, aside for The Fartz and DOA. Mainly a Northwest comp, with a few acts from Italy, San Fran and Phoenix. I think most of the songs on here can't be found anywhere else.

"CCM and I REFUSE IT from Italy; FARTZ and SOLGER (R.I.P.) and REJECTERS from the Northwest; MEAT PUPPETS, PART-TIME CHRISTIANS, and MAGGOT BRAINS from all around. Lots of live tracks and decent sound quality, but what's most unusual about this release is...no accompanying booklet with lyrics, addresses, etc., a rarity these days."
-Tim Yohannan (from Maximum Rocknroll #21, January 1985)

01. Maggot Brains - Intro
02. Maggot Brains - Charlie Manson
03. Mr. Epp and the Calculations - What's Right?
04. I Refuse It - Hit and Run Attack
05. I Refuse It - Sacrifici Umeni
06. The Meat Puppets - Problem Child
07. The Meat Puppets - Aurora Borealis
08. DOA - Slumlord
09. Solger - Raping Dead Nuns
10. Solger - Dead Solger
11. Cheetah Chrome Motherfuckers - NO OBVIOUS TITLE
12. Cheetah Chrome Motherfuckers - Getting Violent
13. Part-Time Christians - Strength Through Bowling
14. Part-Time Christians - Al Capone
15. The Rejectors - Patriot
16. The Rejectors - The End
17. The Fartz - Police Force
18. The Fartz - People United

June 7, 2012


Culture Kids are from San Francisco and play noisy lo-fi hardcore. This self-released 7" was their vinyl debut, and appears to be out of print because I haven't seen it for sale online anywhere. I think they also have some demo tapes out too, which also seem hard to track down. If you like this EP, check out their first full length, out on cassette through Burger Records, and LP on Make A Mess Records. You can listen to it in its entirety HERE.

1. Drop Off The Block
2. Dumbhead
3. Join The Cult
4. Keep Control
5. Good Ol' American Boys
6. Beer Battered Bullshit

June 1, 2012

INDIGESTI - Osservati Dall'Inganno LP (1986)

Indigesti are often referred to as 'The Italian Bad Brains'. Although their vocalist does try to sing like H.R. at times, I think they really pulled off their own sound with this record, their debut full-length. While their earlier material is straight up fast USHC, 'Osservati' showed how much they evolved as a band, and not in a bad way either. This album sounds like it could have been released in the early to mid 90's, so I guess you can say they were a bit ahead of their time.
On a recent trip to Rome, I picked up a CD reissue that included some video footage from their 1987 US tour, and a book featuring photos, lyrics and liner notes (in Italian). But what really disappointed me is that CD itself sounded like it was ripped from vinyl, crackle and all. I'm not sure if was either a case of 'this is the way it was meant to be heard' or the master tapes were long lost. Had I known that, I would've just bought the LP instead and done it myself. So I did that anyways. This was ripped from the 1995 Vacation House reissue. 

1. Silenzio Statico
2. Doppio Confronto
3. Diretto Nel Mio Sguardo
4. Senso Di Abitudine
5. Fragile Costruzione Mobile
6. Osservati Dall' Inganno
7. Alone D'Oro
8. Dune
9. Dubbio Legato
10. Permessi Nel Disagio
11. Uguale Nell' Uguale
12. Oltre Camera